Select Page



James E Zelko


Mr. Zelko’s 38 years with the Will County Health Department, including 17 as Executive Director, is a major asset to his role as Will County Board of Health President. He understands the many facets and challenges of Public Health and provides a historic perspective so necessary in the decision-making process. He resides in Elwood and joined the Board of Health in 2008 and became President in 2016.

Dr. Billie Terrell, Ph.D

Vice President

Dr. Terrell’s 40 years as a Clinical Social Worker, as well as 30 years as a university professor, provides a special contribution to WCHD’s mission, especially in Behavioral Health. With being current in the educational and clinical sides of the behavioral health field, she provides a much-needed perspective. She has a private counseling practice, resides in Shorewood, and joined the Board of Health in August 2010.

John J. Cicero


Mr. Cicero continues to be a major presence at WCHD. He first served as Executive Director from 2008 to 2016, and then joined the Board of Health in April of 2016. His many years, in many roles in the Health Department, play a key role in staffing and budget issues, as well as program and policy. He resides in Joliet.

Board Members

Don Gould


Mr. Gould is self-employed as an attorney, with an office in Rockdale. Don has been a member of the BOH, serving simultaneously as our County Board Liaison for many years. Mr. Gould resides in Shorewood, and joined the Board of Health in December 2008.

Paul Hertzmann


Mr. Hertzmann has been with the Lockport Township Fire Protection District since 1989, and was appointed Chief in 2017. He provides the Board with insight when it comes to Emergency Preparation and Response. He has an associate degree from JJC, and bachelor’s and master’s Degrees from Lewis University. Although not required, it is apparent that someone with Emergency Response background is beneficial to the BOH.

Dr. Gary Lipinski, M.D.


Dr. Lipinski is the CEO of AMITA Health Provena St. Joseph Medical Center in Joliet. He resides in Burr Ridge and joined the Board in 2017. With many clinical programs and the CHC as part of the Health Department, a current perspective and medical expertise is valuable for making program, budget, and policy decisions.

Teena Mackey


Ms. Mackey brings special perspective to the Board due to her work as a volunteer for the National Alliance for Mental Illness (NAMI). She served with the Joliet Park District for many years, and now serves as Coordinator of Community Housing for Cornerstone Services, Inc. She is extremely familiar with many communities and needs within Will County. She also has knowledge of a wide network of other social service organizations in Will County. Ms. Mackey is a native of Joliet and a graduate of St. Francis Academy and the University of St. Francis.

Dr. George Pitsilos, M.D.


Like Dr. Lipinski, Dr. Pitsilos helps satisfy the very important requirement from the BOH compilation that at least two doctors serve on the Board. Dr. Pitsilos works in internal medicine, resides in Bolingbrook, and joined the Board of Health in May of 2014.

Nanci Reiland, DNP


Ms. Reiland contributes her knowledge to the Board as Assistant Professor of the College of Nursing at Lewis University. Ms. Reiland completed her pre-doctoral internship at our CHC, studying and observing under our medical staff and Chief Executive officer. She resides in Yorkville and joined the Board of Health in January of 2019.

Dr. Scott Soderquist, D.D.S


Dr. Soderquist resides in Naperville and works as an orthodontist, with multiple practices in Will County. The BOH compilation requires one dentist to sit on the board, and Dr. Soderquist’ s experience is essential to the operation of our CHC Dental Clinic and Mobile Dental Unit. He joined the Board of Health in 2015.

Dr. Edgar Ramos, PSY. D.


Dr. Ramos provides solid knowledge to the Board in the Behavioral Health Field. He is Director of Psychological Services at Family Behavioral Health Clinic, has decades of experience in BH and MH treatment. He resides in Homer Glen.

Margaret Tyson


Ms. Tyson joined the Board in July of 2020, and has a Bachelor of General Studies in Computer Science from Roosevelt University. She has worked in and enjoyed the Information Technology field for over 17 years, as well as working as a substitute teacher in Naperville, Bolingbrook, Romeoville, and Plainfield. She resides in Bolingbrook.